Elementals 2/4: Earth

Forgive the terribly quality of some of the images.  I am convinced that I have the most fussy camera.  It took me a camera and two cell phones to get enough images that look okTechnology, why do you hate me?  I see your macro setting but you scoff.

Now, I must confess, I am no pro.  I am even sure I can claim to be hobbyist with painting miniatures.  I have painted very few in my life.  I’ve always been artistically inclined since I was a kid, so it’s no surprise that my love of collecting and putting together miniatures would evolve into painting.

I get very nervous before I try something new with minis.  Which, so far, has been everything.  Painting a big earth elemental was no different.  However, I have to say: this was the most fun mini for me to paint by far! 

I primed this figure using P3 Black Spray primer with a batch I prepped a few months ago.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • I needed, surprisingly, very few paints for this guy.  A base coat of  MSP (Master Series Paint) Stormy Grey was used.  During this step I started staring at my terrain packs in my, “Mini Painting Box of Goodies.”  To hell with it, let’s do some basing!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • The basing was simple.  On one of my walks when the tide was low (I live right on a bay) I collected a handful of various stones for terrain purposes.  I laid those on my base with some Tacky Glue, and let them set.  I then covered my base, using a toothpick, with tacky glue and dunked the base into my terrain container of medium grit.  Enough of this, let’s get back to the elemental!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • The earth, in a single give spot, is made up of many types of minerals.  This wouldn’t be much different.  I simplified the rock elemental by making a point to use only two stone colors: a brownish and a greyish one.  If you have ever painted a tiled or stone floor for a miniature, I basically decided to use the same principles.  This made for a very quick, easy and good looking rock dude.
  • This figure has wonderful texture and the texture was still very apparent (nod to an excellent primer) and did most of the work for me.  I decided that the “rougher” stone surface would be the brown.  I lightly watered down MSP Khaki Shadow and covered those areas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Next, I used MSP Brown Wash on the entire figure.  I love their washes.  I am also lazy.  I can live with this. I also used the wash on the terrain grit.
  • Following this I used my MSP Black Wash on the grey stones only.  I went over it again a second time to feed some wash into particularly deep areas regardless of stone color.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • At this point I pulled out my MSP Misty Grey and used it to dry brush all of the “grey stones” and make sure to take particular notice of the edges on the stones to make give them more dimension.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • Being that the brown stones had a very dirt and dirty look I figures that maybe a little green tint in their highlights would be good.  I mixed MSO Khaki Highlight with a little bit of  MSP Swamp Green and used it to drybrush all of the brown stones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • I considered trying to do something special with the face, like glowing or shiny eyes, or maybe add a bright rune of some kind.  I ended up deciding that I like the look of it as it was and opted to merely give it a slight metallic detail.  I Mixed a little MSP New Gold with a little MSP Swamp Green and lighting colored in it’s right eye swirl and it’s left eye.  I also painted it’s teeth gold.

20130612_162044

  • The final detail I added was a little shrubbery and some small pulled bits of the shrubbery to add as “moss” on the elemental.

20130612_161526

Next? Water Elemental!  Also, possibly a big cat. I hear the internet was invent by cats or something to that notion. 

Leave a Reply

