Derpy Orc and the Goblin Stylist

Sunday night was project night for me.  Being that it wasn’t decent weather for priming outside I prepped our kitchen “bar” for the task.

 Image

Note precious background booze, because booze is always noteable.

Image

And we’re primed!

I’m sure you are wondering about those rascally goblins.  Captain Husband, as I sometimes call him, decided he wanted to join me in painting.  He has never really painted before other than a few convention classes and he’s not exactly keen on anything art related.  We sat down and I guided him through painting an orc.  Which mean that was mostly what we did today.  I took every opportunity to tease him, as is my right.

However, the goblins got love as well before the orcs got love.  The goblins got head swag.  By swag I mean a Mohawk and a hood/scarf.

ImageImageImageImage

Today was couple’s orc painting day, so the goblins will have to wait to be painted.

Image

  • I started with a primed figure using P3 Black Primer.
  • Also a few coats of Master Series Paint (MSP here on out) Military Green as the skin base.

Image

  • I continued with an MSP Brown Wash over the skin which didn’t seem to do much.  I painted shadows with MSP Swamp Green and highlights with Camoflage Green.  I was given good advice as to never use a sharp/pure white for eyes because it makes the eyes look surprised and unnaturally wide.  I brushed in the sclera of the eye using Citadel Bleached Bone.

Image

  • I decided on red eyes (because orcs are fierce and we love to make them bleed) and dotted the iris with MPS Carnage Red followed by a smaller, lower dot of Citadel Blood Red.  I finished the eyes with a dot of Citadel Chaos Black for the pupil and a small Citadel Skull White dot.  I ended up going back at the end to redo the pupils.
  • I painted the teeth in with Citadel Bleached Boned.  I went back in at the end to clean up the teeth a little.
  • With the face basically done I put a coat of MPS Adamantine Black over the chainmail of the armor.

Image

Crap picture due to crap lighting. Yay for darkness!

  • I worked on the chainmail first by dry brushing MPS Aged Pewter over the Black Adamatine.  I then attempted to dry brush on high areas (the orc man boobs) with Citadel Mithril Silver.  It ended up being too thick.  I went back in and fixed this at the end as well, as I couldn’t tell with the crummy lighting I had.
  • I painted the belt, belt straps, shoulder armor and boots with Citadel Scorched Brown, and dry brushed highlights with MSP Tanned Shadow.  I could have done a wash followed by dry brushing, but my husband was letting me know that after this mini he would never attempt this torture again.

Image

  • I painted his sexy orc skirt with a thinned out MPS Carnage Red and then used a more concentrated mix for the mid-color.  I used Citadel Blood Red for the highlights.
  • I then painted all small details left which included the adorable skull on his belt (yes, adorable, I thought it was cute and fun to paint).  Unsurprisingly I used Citadel Bleached Bone for the skull and Citadel Skull White for the highlights.

Image

“I am the blood brother of Derpy the Cross Eyed.  But I saw the orc Opthalmologist before I had issues…”

Captain Husband’s miniature we called Derpy Orc because he had crossed eyes and crooked teeth.  Someone’s orc mother obviously used her child as a club too many times.  My orc, as I started before, needed a little more eye and teeth love.  The image above is the final result.

I don’t think I could convince Captain Husband to join me on further painting adventures outside of a con.  He let me know that all minis are sacred little flowers and that I am the only one with the touch to handle them they way they should be treated.  At least that’s what I heard as he went swearing off to his man-corner for some ME3 multiplayer.

The Orcs used were Reaper Bones Spearmen.  I have heard from a few people that you don’t need to prime them in order to paint them.  I call bullshit.  I received this as part of a convention class and the paint would not stick.  They were not primed and the class was basically useless as we simply couldn’t paint diddle.  Prime your Bones figures and don’t listen to anyone who says you don’t need to.

Bones figures are also, obviously, going to have the standard plastic issue of bending weapons.  These aren’t going to be treasured PC minis, so I indulged my lazy feeling to not make them metal weapons.

Next time I hope to give you completed Goblins and maybe some elementals.

3 thoughts on “Derpy Orc and the Goblin Stylist

  1. What are you using to supplement the bases? It looks clay/putty like. And is that the same material you used for the hood on the goblin?

    • I used green stuff for the both bases and the hood. I used the green stuff to secure all figures shown to a 25mm base. The bases will get covered when I have a basing day and can add in my surface stuff. That will be a post on another day! Thank you for your question.

Leave a Reply

